Joseph Tovares

Joseph Tovares is the Managing Producer of La Plaza, the long-running series from WGBH Boston that reflects the culture and concerns of the Latino community. Prior to his work at La Plaza, Tovares was the Series Editor of the American Experience.

Tovares is a veteran documentary television producer. He came to American Experience from Blackside Productions, Inc. of Boston, where he produced Science and the American Dream, for the Breakthrough series. He also worked as a producer on the ten-part WGBH series, Americas. Tovares is the producer/director/writer of Zoot Suit Riots, a one-hour film for a 2002 American Experience episode about Mexican American youth in 1942 Los Angeles who dared to challenge the unwritten social codes of wartime L.A. and paid a heavy price. He is currently producing “Remember the Alamo,” (working title) a film about the Mexican community of San Antonio in the years leading up to the battle of the Alamo and the Texas war for independence.

A native of San Antonio, Texas, Tovares earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Broadcasting at the School of Public Communication at Boston University in 1979. He received a Master Degree from the College of Communication at the University of Texas at Austin. 


Production Credits

Written & Produced by
Joseph Tovares

Directed by
Joseph Tovares

Narrated by
Hector Elizondo

Edited by
James Rutenbeck

Associate Producers/research
Desirée Garcia
Mylène Moreno

Michael Chin

Music by
Claudio Ragazzi

Sound Record
Scott Harber

Assistant Camera
Jill Tufts

Lighting Director
Chas Norton

Tom Clark
Dean Hayasaka

Robert Chambers
Carl "Buddy" Lenhart
Dave Bunge
Craig A. Love

Additional Cinematography
Peter S. Kreiger

Additional Sound
Perce Urgena
Claudia Katayanagi
Sara Chin

Archival Research
Joy Conley

Additional Research
Lena Sheehan
George J. Fogelson
Dan Lukenbill

Sound Design by 701 Sound
Ira Spiegel
Bruce Kitzmeyer
Gerald Donalan
Conor Guy

Sound Mixer
Robert Fernandez

Greg Conners

Berle Cherney
Ed Joyce

On-line Editor
Mark Steele

Production Design
Susan Gaedke
Brian Cobb

Kristin Nelson

Erin Doyle

Deb Doyle

Location Scout
Deb Doyle
John P. Crowley
Linda Emmons-Cunningham

Salome Aguilar, Jr.
Patrick Cardenas
Isaac Robledo
Andrew Aguilar
Joey Mata
Stephen Acevedo
Andrea M. Bueno
Raymond A. Ortiz III
Dannette S. Garcia
Cynthia De La Garza

Special Thanks
Kevin Stein
Raul Tovares

Archival Film Provided by
Historic Films
Archive Films
WPA Film Library

Archival Photos Provided by
Don Normark
AP/Wide World Photos
Leyvas Family
Corbis-Bettmann, Inc.
Jim Heiman
Library of Congress
Los Angeles Public Library
Diaz Family
Los Angeles Times
Carlos Espinoza
Theodore Encinas
Regional History Collection, University of Southern California
Special Collections, University of California, Los Angeles
Ventura County Historical Society
Water/Transportation Authority, Los Angeles

Eduardo Obregón Pagán
Edward Escobar
Elizabeth Escobedo
Don T. Sine

Creative Consultant
Paul Taylor

Production Assistants
Paulette Orona
Nikki Young
Gabriel Monts

Debra von Colln
Heather Chapman
Michael Equi
Patrick Carey
Sarah Smythe
David LaMattina
Scott Lawrence
Molly Goggin
Elida Kamine


Post Production
James E. Dunford
Rose M. Compagine
Greg Shea

Series Designer
Alison Kennedy

On-line Editor
Mark Steele

Sound Mix
John Jenkins

Series Theme
Mark Adler

Business Manager
John Van Hagen

Project Administration
Nancy Farrell
Vanessa Ruiz
Helen R. Russell
Rebekah Suggs

Director, New Media
Maria Daniels

Interactive Media
Danielle Dell'Olio

Daphne B. Noyes
Johanna Baker

Coordinating Producer
Susan Mottau

Series Editor
Sharon Grimberg

Senior Producer
Mark Samels

Executive Producer
Margaret Drain

© 2001
WGBH Educational Foundation All rights reserved