Susanne Mason
Producer and Director

Susanne Mason’s feature debut, WRIT WRITER, is the product of several years of research into the history of the Texas Department of Corrections between 1947-1978, and a lot of fundraising. Prior to and during that time she served as associate producer of a variety of public television documentaries, including Are The Kids Alright? (2004 Regional PBS); Struggle In The Fields (1996 National PBS); Songs Of The Homeland (1994, National PBS); and Go Back To Mexico! (1994, Frontline, National PBS). More recently, Mason wrote, produced and directed short documentaries about the history of Austin, Texas, for the Save Our Springs Alliance and Watershed Productions, including Town In Transition, a short doc about growth in the Texas capitol between 1950-1975. Mason’s first film, Stories From The Riverside (1993), a 28-minute documentary that explores domestic homicide through the stories of three women incarcerated for murdering their abusive husbands, received a Silver Apple from the National Educational Film & Video Festival and a Director’s Choice Award from the Black Maria Film & Video Festival, among other honors.

Production Credits

Produced by
Susanne Mason

Narration adapted by
Dagoberto Gilb

Voice of Fred Cruz performed by
Jesse Borrego

Directed by
Susanne Mason

Cinematography by
Deborah Eve Lewis

Edited by
Karen Skloss
Manuel Tsingaris
Kristen Nutile
Sandra Guardado

Original Music written and performed by
Gabe Rhodes

Original Accordion Themes written & performed by
Joel Guzman

Motion Graphics & Design by
Brandon Thomas

Additional Motion Graphics & Design by
Eric Pham

Assistant Camera
David Layton

Associate Producer
Angie Alvarez
Deborah Norris
Robin Carter
Diane Weidenkopf

Additional Camera Operator
David Layton
John Lacy
Alex Rappoport
David DeWitt
Scott Sinkler
Wilson M. Waggoner

Sound Recording
Michael Swanner
Alex Herrera
Doug Dunderdale
Luke Deikis
Diane Weidenkopf
Ethan Andrus
A. Dale Lynn
Dennis Meehan
Brett Lofthus
Tina Hardin

Graphic Artist
Tillie Policastro
David Shields

Consulting Writer
Michelle Ferrari

Assistant Editor
Leah E. Bowers
Heather Courtney
Rian Casey Lee
Michelle Mayer
Mark O’Brien

Art Director
Heyd Fontenot

David Layton
Harrison Witt

Additional AC
Kat Gibson
Dina Parkinson

Featuring interviews with
Carlos M. Alva
Benny Wade Clewis
Robert M. Cousins
Jacqueline Gordon
Vanessa Jalet-Stanescu
Paul Lucko
Steve J. Martin
John V. Martinez
Carl Luther McAdams
Billy Wayne McCarter
Erasmo Mercado
Floyd Patterson
Rudy Portillo
Carl Robins
Alvin D. Slaton
William Bennett Turner

Bajo Sexto - Jose "Trino" Sanchez
Cello - Brian Standefer

Jeremy L. Castillo
Jesus M. Garcia
Josh Jimenez
Jorge Mata Otero
Eric Pham
Monica Torres

Historic Cars provided by
Janell Neal
Walter Neal
Charles R. Price
Gabriel Torres
Gene Watson

John V. Martinez

Research by
Susanne Mason
Robin Carter

Additional Research
Monica Walters
Alan Bushnell
Jessica Louchheim
Shawna Castellano

Production Assistants
Jesus Garcia
Barna Kantor
Heather Mitchell

Mary Robinson
Erin Howley

Lodging courtesy of
David Hefner

Post-production facilities
MATCH FRAME (1080, Inc.)

Voice-over Artists
Rodney Garza
David Garcia
Raul Castillo

Post-production sound recording
Murray Music
New Age Recording

Sound Editing & Design
Greg Armstrong

Sound Mix
Tom Hammond

Lloyd C. Anderson, J.D.
Michele Deitch, J.D.
Hector Galan
Seldon B. Hale
Frank R. Kemerer, PhD
Paul M. Lucko, PhD
James W. Marquart, PhD
Steve J. Martin, Esq.
Paul Stekler, PhD
Donald R. Walker, PhD
David A. Williams, PhD
Larry W. Yackle, J.D.
Howard Zinn, PhD

Post-production support
Detour Filmproduction

Fiscal Sponsor
Austin Film Society

Legal Counselors
Clark Richards
Benjamin J. Cunningham

Archival film and video courtesy of
ABC News VideoSource
BBC Motion Gallery
Budget Films
J. Larry Carroll
CBS News
Diane Christian
Raymond J. Fields
Fox Movietone News
Getty Images
Houston Public Library KHOU Collection
Bruce Jackson
Lyndon Baines Johnson Library National Archives & Records Administration
Producers Library
Pete Seeger
Toshi Seeger
Eric Sherman & Film Transform
Southern Methodist University
Texas State Library & Archives Commission
Texas Tech University Southwest Collection
Windham School District

Archival photographs & news clips courtesy of
Juan Arispe
Arizona Republic / Phoenix Newspapers, Inc.
Austin-American Statesman
Austin History Center, Austin Public Library
James Balzaretti
Jose Bustamante
Fort Worth Star Telegram
Gladys Enriquez
Jacqueline Gordon
Institute of Texan Cultures at UTSA
Frances Jalet-Miller
Roberta Jalet-Kurland
Vanessa Jalet-Stanescu
Bruce Jackson
Danny Lyon
Houston Chronicle Houston Post
Houston Public Library
Magnum Photo
John V. Martinez
Joan Penzenstadler
Robert Pierce, PhD
Sam Pierson
Alan Pogue
San Antonio Express News
Texas Department of Criminal Justice Media Services
Texas State Library & Archives Commission
Texas State Law Library
University of Texas at Arlington Libraries
University of Texas at Austin Center for American History

Production Services
Alpha Cine Labs
Dwayne’s Photo Video Post & Transfer
Yale Film & Video

Film Stock by
Eastman Kodak

Special thanks to
Steve Akers
John Anderson
Gertrude Barnstone
David Briggs
Margaret Brown
Buzzy Burwell
The Bustos Family
Rebecca Campbell
Linda A. Castillo
Raul Castillo
Piilani Cook
Lee Daniel
Anne del Castillo
Sarah Cruz
Amanda Doan
Robert Eason
Maricruz Estrada
Penelope Falk
Christine Felton
Larry Fitzgerald
Sarah Fox
Sara Fuchs
Jesus Garcia
Dr. Mario Garza
Jacqueline Gordon
Sara Greene
Hal H. Husbands
Don Howard
Tucker Jalet
Gary Johnson
Claire Jones
Sister Martha Ann Kirk
Karen Kocher
Roberta Kurland
Joyce Kussad
Michael Leftkow
Murray Legge
Julie Mackaman
Roy Mandujano
Leah Marino
Eduardo Mauricio Robert Mason
Virginia Mason
Mary Gay Maxwell
Kirsten McMurray
Barbara Myers
Media Network
Mark Miks
Frank Mora
John Munro
Matt Nelson
Office of the Attorney General of TX
Roger Pirkle
Ariel Quintans
Joanna Rabiger
Kimmie Rhodes
Toni Liccion-Robins
Richard Saiz
Wayne Scott
Tom Shelton
Elisabeth Sikes
Tinsley Silcox
Jessica Slaton
Mary Slaton
Matthew Slaton
Sherri Slaton
Sue Slaton
Ellen Spiro
Vanessa Stanescu
Paul Stekler
Alison Supancic
Michael Taylor
Kevin Triplett
Karolyn Tybor
Rene Valdez
Benoit Walker
Nicole Whorell
Beth Wichterich
Francie Wilson
David A. Wright
Annelise Wunderlich

Funding provided by
City of Austin Cultural Contracts Office
Texas Commission on the Arts
Southern Humanities Media Fund of the Virginia Council for the Humanities
National Endowment for the Arts
Texas Council for the Humanities
Summerlee Foundation
Texas Filmmakers’ Production Fund
Richard Linklater
Paul Robeson Fund for Independent Media
Hefner Foundation
Marcia Dam
Edward and Constance Wachs
Diocese of Austin
Marcy Garriott
Paula Rogge, MD
Benjamin J. Cunningham
William Habern
Mary Meredith
Jennifer Farris
Stephen Priest
Sam Graham
Virginia Agnew
Cindy Barron
Pam Reed
Malcolm Greenstein
Marjorie Loehlin
Betty Blackwell
Tom Doyal
Eric R. Galton
Alice London
Robert McEntee
Thomas Mason
William and Sabrina Streusand
Susan Henricks
Renea and Susan Hicks
J. Patrick Hazel

Executive Producer for ITVS
Sally Jo Fifer

WRIT WRITER is a co-production of Passage Productions and the Independent Television Service (ITVS), in association with Latino Public Broadcasting, with funding provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB)

This program was produced by Passage Productions which is solely responsible for its content.

WRIT WRITER Copyright 2007 Passage Productions. All Rights Reserved