James Rutenbeck

Director James Rutenbeck's films have explored the lives of unemployed coal miners, small farmers and itinerant evangelists. “Raise the Dead” portrays the lives of holiness preachers practicing a grassroots tradition in the shadow of televangelism. In 2000, the hour-long documentary was the only U.S. film selected for competition at Cinema du Reel and was awarded "Best Independent Film" at the New England Film Festival. His 1989 film “Losing Ground,” also a Cinema du Reel selection, is a psychological portrait of an Iowa family facing the loss of a family farm. His first film “Company Town” (1984) is a meditation on the past and present in a former Appalachian coal town.

Rutenbeck's body of work was featured at the 2003 Robert Flaherty International Film Seminar. His films have also been programmed at the Museum of Fine Arts and Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston, MoMA, National Gallery, Double Take Documentary Film Festival, Margaret Mead Film and Video Festival, Lussas International Film Festival, Black Maria and others. In January 2009 Rutenbeck was recipient of the DuPont Columbia Journalism Award for his work as Producer and Director of “Not Just A Paycheck,” a half- hour episode of the PBS series “Unnatural Causes,” about health disparities in the United States. “Not Just a Paycheck” examines the health consequences of the loss of 3000 jobs in a rural Michigan county.

Editing credits include over 50 films for PBS, BBC, Channel Four (UK), Discovery Channel and Showtime. They include the recent ALMA award-winning “Roberto Clemente” for American Experience, Emmy award-winning “Siamese Twins” for NOVA and the groundbreaking “People of the Shining Path” for Britain's Channel Four. These films have also won Peabody, du Pont-Columbia and other honors and awards. He was a consulting editor on the recent independent feature American Wake.

Mr. Rutenbeck was awarded a 2007 Sundance Institute Documentary Fund grant and is a three-time recipient of artist fellowships from the Massachusetts Cultural Council. He has received humanities grants from the Southern Humanities Media Fund and numerous state humanities councils. He received a Master of Science in Visual Arts from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1984, where he studied filmmaking with cinema-verité pioneer Richard Leacock.


Stephen McCarthy

Stephen McCarthy is a Boston-based Director of Photography with twenty- five years' experience in non-fiction filmmaking, from cinema verité to docudrama. His work has appeared in prime-time documentary series on PBS, Discovery, The BBC, Channel Four Television, HBO, History Channel and MTV.

Recent PBS work includes “Storm Over Everest for Frontline,” “The Lobotomist” for American Experience, “Audubon” for American Masters, “African American Lives with Henry Louis Gates, Jr.” and Marco Williams's “Banished” which premiered at the 2007 Sundance Film Festival and aired on PBS’ Independent Lens. Mr. McCarthy is currently working on “We Shall Remain,” a five-part series on Native American history, “The Death of Lincoln,” both for American Experience, and “Master Class” for HBO.


Angélica Allende Brisk

Angélica Allende Brisk has been an award winning independent producer and a freelance editor since 1991. Ms. Brisk's independent production credits include “Sex Without Love,” a poem by Sharon Olds, “Never Met Picasso,” “Next Stop Wonderland” and “16 Decisions,” an international festival favorite exploring a Bangladeshi woman's social charter. As a staff producer for “La Plaza” at WGBH in Boston, Ms. Brisk has written, produced and directed several half-hour documentaries for local and national broadcast.


Robert Todd

Robert Todd has been exhibiting paintings and films while teaching and editing in the Boston area since 1985. An eclectic filmmaker and sound artist interested in "the poetic use of non-fiction material,” he continually produces short works that resist categorization. His work has screened internationally, and received various awards. He has produced more than 30 films in the past ten years and served in creative positions on 30 other projects including independent features and WGBH productions such as NOVA and the Science Odyssey series.

His work has won awards at the Media City Festival, Images Festival, Big Muddy Film Festival, Black Maria Film Festival, the New England Film Festival, the Rochester Film Festival and the Ann Arbor Film Festival - where his film won the coveted "Old Peculiar" award. Since 2000 he has been a full time assistant professor in the Media Arts Department at Emerson College in Boston.


Seamus Egan
Original Score

Seamus Egan was born in Hatboro, Pennsylvania and raised for a time in Ireland, Seamus has released three acclaimed solo albums for Shanachie; 1985's “Traditional Music of Ireland;” 1990's “A Week in January;” and 1996's “When Juniper Sleeps.” He also performed on a soundtrack tied to the 1995 Oscar winning movie “Dead Man Walking” and more recently wrote a "crisply pulsative score,” said Billboard Editor-in-Chief Timothy White, for the Irish stage show “Dancing on Dangerous Ground.”

Production Credits

James Rutenbeck

Stephen Mc Carthy

Robert Todd
James Rutenbeck

Angelica Allende Brisk
Tina Nguyen

Original Music Composer & Arrangement
Seamus Egan

Additional Cinematography
Jeremy Leach
Andy Rice
Richard Chisolm
Thomas Danielczik
Austin de Besche
Douglas Gordon
Julie Mallozzi
Sandeep Ray
Xuan Vu
Kevin M. McCarthy

Additional Sound Recording
George Shafnacker

On-line Editor & Colorist
Michael H. Amundson
Jim Ferguson

Post Production Facility

Sound Design
Geof Thurber

Re-recording Mixer
Raul Rosa
Greg McCleary
Heartpunch Studio

Associate Editor
Kenneth Hebert

Field Producers
Patricia Alvarado Nunez
Franziska Blome
Moses Shumow

Archive Still Researcher
Cathleen O’Connell

Music Consultant
Rena Kosersky

Alisa Placas

Summers Henderson
Geoffrey Marschall

Humanities Consultants
Deborah Pacini Hernandez
Roberto Goizueta

Production Accounting
Brittany Gravely

Legal Counsel
Sandra Forman

Fiscal Agent
Documentary Educational Resources

Fiddle - Win Horan
Harp - Catriona McKay
Guitar - Eamon McElholm
Violin - Luigi Mazzochi
Viola - Sarah Sutton
Cello - Elizabeth Thompson
Guitar, Keyboards, Tin Whistle - Seamus Egan

Recorded by
John Anthony

Pete Rydberg
Maja Audio Group
Philadelphia, Pa